Georgia License Suspension
Georgia License Suspension Defense Attorney
Losing your Georgia drivers license will have a major effect on your life. After your DUI arrest, you want a lawyer who knows the laws in Georgia and will help you take immediate action to keep your driving privileges.
DO NOT DELAY. THE LAW ONLY ALLOWS YOU 10 DAYS TO REQUEST A HEARING TO PROTECT YOUR DRIVERS LICENSE
If the police officer took your drivers license and/or gave you a notice of license suspension (called a 1205 form) you only have 10 days from the moment of your arrest to file the paperwork necessary to get a license suspension hearing with the Department of Drivers Services. If you fail to request a hearing, your privilege to drive will only be valid for 30 days from the date on which you were arrested, which will be followed by an automatic suspension of your driving privilege for a period of up to 12-months. By simply requesting a hearing, will extend your time to drive until the end of the hearing.
It is important to have a qualified Georgia DUI attorney assist you in your license suspension case, as it is a civil case, making them very tough to fight. However, there are many benefits to having an experienced lawyer protect your rights at your hearing:
- If you do not challenge, you will lose your license automatically.
- At your hearing, you will have the chance to work with the officer to have your license suspension withdrawn in exchange for some kind of plea on a lesser offense.
- This is your first chance to see the officer’s evidence, which can help us build a stronger DUI defense for use in criminal court.
As a trial lawyer, Atlanta DUI Attorney Douglas B. Chanco knows what it takes to fight for his clients. Throughout the entire process, we will fight for you and do everything we can to lower the charges and minimize the potential consequences.